top of page

Reversing climate change in Scotland's Rainforest

I have been wrestling with the environmental impact that each of us has and our ability to have a positive impact. I'm delighted to discover that we can, together, reverse climate change with technologies that are currently available, we just have to implement them. With future technological developments our ability to have a greater positive impact on the planet are huge.


In their video series Climate Solutions 101, @ProjectDrawdown present a brighter climate reality. Whilst they are clear that there is a crisis, it is one that can be understood and addressed, with a realistic achievement of drawdown between 2040 and 2050.

They explain that "Drawdown is the future point in time when levels of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere stop climbing and start to steadily decline. This is the point when we begin the process of stopping further climate change and averting potentially catastrophic warming." This critical turning point for life on Earth can be achieved by addressing both sides of a relatively simple equation: reducing current sources of emissions and supporting natural sinks.


Achievement of this brighter future requires action by individuals, organisations and governments. In each case this takes leadership. We cannot afford to wait to take action or wait for someone else to take the lead - we must all take responsibility for ensuring this brighter future. Gaining awareness of our own impact and the options available is a great starting point.


The UK average carbon footprint is about 10 tonnes CO2 per person per year. This is about double the world average. Including all greenhouse gases, the UK average footprint is about 13 tonnes CO2-e per person per year. You can calculate your own carbon footprint if you want a more accurate figure.

Whilst I know that I need to address both sides of the equation, I am still getting my head around how I can reduce Current Sources. I will share my carbon handprint (the actions to have a positive impact on the climate) as it develops, as I endeavout to make a 10% p.a. reduction in carbon footprint


So what about the otehr side of the equation; How can I support Natural Sinks?


I have always been a greater support (financially and practically) of environmental charities and initiatives. Offsetting my carbon footprint to become "carbon neutral" will be an extension to this. Offsetting is about investing in projects that save or remove carbon elsewhere to balance the emissions that you have generated.


One method of offsetting is through planting trees. It is contested whether this has the desired effect and it is argued that: new trees will take decades to absorb the CO2; the trees will give back the CO2 into the atmosphere eventually when they die and decompose; forests are now dying from drought or being destroyed in forest fires; the amount of land needed makes this unsustainable in the long term.

My counter argument is that I need to put my money into an organisation that addresses these issues and restores existing woodland and ecosystems, prevents the loss of trees and woodlands, as well as planting new trees and woodlands for future benefit. Enter The Woodland Trust, who create, restore and protect woods for people, wildlife and the climate into the future.


Next I have to work out how much financial contribution I need to make to fully offset my (soon to be reducing) carbon footprint. This has proven very difficult as different projects charge different amounts for similar services. One charity argues that my annual carbon footprint equates to the planting of 9 new trees each year (£90). Another suggests £9 per tonne of CO2 (£117) - but how do they compare to the cost of preserving and improving an established ancient woodland that has been storing carbon and providing rare and essential habitats for hundreds of years, such as Scotland's Rainforest?


I've made my decision and committed to offset my personal and business carbon footprint through The Woodland Trust.

What's your commitment?



11 views0 comments
bottom of page